Parish Council 2019

Meetings held 1st Tuesday of the month at 8.00 pm

If you have any queries or concerns about matters of the Parish, please take the time to:

  • chat over your concerns and suggestions with any of the Parish Council or
  • submit comments in writing via the Parish Secretary or
  • leave in the Rectors tray outside the Parish Office or email 

Parish Council Members 2022

  • Rector: Fr. Neil Hicks
  • Carol Henderson (Secretary)
  • Debra Wright (Treasurer / Warden)
  • Jim Judd (Warden)
  • Yvonne Davies (Warden St Thomas)
  • Kate Burton
  • Geoff Campbell
  • Doug Davies
  • John Ellis
  • John Greasley
  • Susie Knight
  • Don Presley
  • Penny Thomas

Parish Council  2019

Parish Council 2019

Back row:  Doug Davies, Kate Burton, Penny Thomas, John Greasley, Susan Knight, John Ellis, Debra Wright, Geoff Campbell, Carol Henderson.
Front Row: Yvonne Davies, Rev’d Neil Hicks, Jim Judd, Don Presley



The beginning of the Parish year in 2017 saw us completing the Rectory renovations and preparing to induct our new Priest Fr. Neil Hicks on 11th November 2017.  We welcomed Neil, Sue, Callum and Lauren following the Induction Service with a “High Tea” in the Church Hall.  Then we faced a very busy period with the Renewal Programme, Annual Parish Meeting, Advent with special celebrations including The Ecumenical Carol Service on 10th December and “More than Music” on 17th December.

Read more

We received our final Draft of the Parish Strategic Plan during the latter part of 2017 after a long period of discussion and revision.  On a practical note the fluorescent lights in the hall, flower room, and bathroom lights were replaced with LED’s and many new cushions for the Church Pews were organised by Noel Hunt using donated fabric.

Early in 2018 the old Rectory front fence was removed and replaced with a powder coated steel fence and gates, which were made possible by the generous donation Dr. Neville McCarthy and the estate of Mrs McCarthy. Thank you to Phil Dickey and Jim Judd for their expertise and equipment in the removal of the old fence and to Jim for his work in organising the superb replacement.

During 2018 the “yarraanglicans” website platform was upgraded and the website has had much revision.  Thank you to Ingo Schweda and Fr. Neil for their constant work to keep it up to date.  You can now find the weekly pew sheet notes, bible readings and Children’s workbook on the website each week.  The Parish now has a facebook page which Fr. Neil has set up and manages with photos of recent events.

Our Safe Church Workshop was held on February 24th 2018 on a hot and windy day, however it enabled our Parishioners and Office bearers to comply with new State Government Legislation requiring us to complete these seminars on a regular basis.

Parish Council approved and adopted the Diocesan “Codes of Conduct” for Younger Children, Older Children, Adults and Older Teenagers, Responding to Breaches of a Code of Conduct, Faithfulness in Service, Code of Good Practice for Clergy, and Protocols for Communicating Codes of Conduct.

Parish Council gave approval for our Parish to join “Messy Church” which gives us resources to conduct our bi-monthly family programme formerly known as “More than Music.”  Parish Council also supported the planning for a 2018 Deb Ball and sought new committee members.  We all pay tribute to the wonderful work of Christine Grinter as a Dance Trainer of the Debutantes for 30 years as well as the other roles she fulfilled within our Parish.  Including Sunday School teacher, Eucharistic Assistant, Bible Reader, Working Bee volunteer and mowing lawns, Fete helper with children’s activities and Mission Committee member. We thank Jeanette and Doug Wilson, Dawn & Geoff Campbell for taking on the job of Dance Trainers for the 2018 Ball held on 6th July, following Christine’s death and all those that helped in any way to make the Deb Ball a success in 2018.

After the Deb Ball, the Ball committee wrote to Moira Shire with suggestions in regard to the maintenance and cleaning of the Town Hall.  As a result of this and the proposal to demolish the Community Hall and Kitchen with no replacement planned, but to build a Library, St. Cuthbert’s Deb Ball Committee was asked to be represented on the “Yarrawonga Town Hall Precinct and Library Community Reference Group.”  Geoff Campbell and Carol Henderson have attended these meetings to date.

Our Annual Fete, held on 21st April 2018 was a great success.  Thank you to Susie Knight our Fete Co-ordinator who made sure that all the necessary planning was in place and to all the volunteers who worked so hard before and after the day.  What a team effort!  However,

at the same time we mourned the loss of Claudette McMillan, our previous Fete Convenor and long serving member and supporter of our church.  Claudette was Treasurer of the Ladies Auxiliary and key to organising catering for any event.  Her stoic attendance at church in the face of her ongoing illness was an inspiration to us all.

Moira Shire contacted St. Cuthbert’s in November 2017 in regard to placing 2 hour parking zones in Lynch St. for the community to access the hospital facilities.  They were unaware that St. Cuthbert’s had a “Parking Plan” in place for Piper St.  after discussions with the Shire in 2013/14.  Finally, after a number of months a 4 hour parking zone was placed on the Church side of Piper Street, but it took further correspondence, a petition to the Shire before the promised 2 hour car park zone for the playground in Kennedy Park to be installed.

In September 2018 our Men’s and Ladies Breakfasts were held.  The Guest speaker at the Men’s Breakfast on 1st was Rob Harwood and for the Ladies on 15th Michelle Bester spoke.  Both breakfasts were well attended and the food and speeches excellent.

Parish Council thanks all those who have assisted in maintaining our buildings and furnishings in good condition and repair. To Fr. Neil, thank you for your guidance and support, and digital skills, in what has been a very busy first 12 months in Yarrawonga and thank you to Sue for your support of all our church activities.

Carol Henderson
Parish Secretary